31
Oct
07

Bah Humbug!

 

Well it’s that time of year again. The dreaded Halloween has graced our doorstep once again.

 

I guess you can tell that I don’t really like it. Possibly because, as kids, we never celebrated it. In fact, I don’t think we even knew it existed!

 

Either way, the fateful day finally arrived today. My daughter came home from school chattering on about trick or treating and wanting to be a part of it. Not that there’s much to it down here. There’s usually only a couple of groups of kids wandering the street in their dress-ups. That’s about it for this little town LOL!

 

Still, I had the joy of trying to explain to her why we don’t celebrate Halloween. Really, there’s no other reason than I find it way too commercialized. But I don’t like the idea of the kids wandering the streets and accepting junk food from strangers. Then I tell myself to get with the programme and let the kids have a bit of fun, but in all honesty, I’d rather them have their fun elsewhere and not be dictated to by the retail industry. Heaven knows they have their hooks in our hides for the likes of Christmas, Easter, Valentines Day, etc, etc. Oh! And don’t get me started on Valentines Day LOL!

 

 

 

Awww geee … I’m a right scrooge aren’t I! LOL.

 

Still, I think I’ll be putting up a little sign on the front steps basically telling the kids not to bother knocking. I’m sick of being looked at like I’m the one who’s spouted another head when I say we don’t celebrate Halloween and I have nothing for them. I don’t being made to feel guilty. I’m very good at doing that for myself, thank you.

***Edited to add: Oooh .. looky what I found over at Hitting the Hot Spot LOL!! I reckon that perhaps I can be converted after all 😉

 

Halloween Hottie

0 Responses to “Bah Humbug!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

