29
Dec
07

My finger has a heart beat

I’m sitting here typing this with two fingers. I can’t believe how hard it is. It’s off putting having to look where my fingers are going AND look at the screen at the same time. Yes, I’m one of those who uses the screen to see what I write. I csn blame Secretarial College where they’d stick paper to the top of the typewriter (yes, typewriter .. am I showing my age?) It covered our hands so we couldn’t see what our fingers were doing.

Anyway, why is she typing with two fingers, you ask? Well, THIS is why … (my apologies to those with sensitive stomaches).

Ma Finger

Yummy, huh?

I was de-nitting dear daughters hair. Damn things can bite! LOL. Nah, just kidding.

I went to open the top draw on our bathroom vanity and it broke off. Now, the vanity has been a bone of contention for some time now. Basically it is falling apart. The top draw has come apart and been stuck back together, but doesn’t sit on the runners so drops down all the time (gripe #1). The whole thing dips down and to the back so when you wash your hands the water from turning on and off taps pools along the back & stains (gripe #2). The handle on the bottom draw was already missing when we bought the place so it’s practically impossible to open (gripe #3). And recently there has been a ‘dead’ smell eminating from the cupboards underneath, despite it having been emptied and scrubbed out (gripe #4). SO, as you can guess I’ve been at Hubby to replace the damn thing. I mean we own a Hardware Store, he can get one at a reasonable price for Christ sake!

Anyway, as I was saying. I went to open the top drawer when the ceramic handle came off in my hand. I was taken by surprise and it took a few moments to notice that there were two big flaps of skin now hanging off my finger. As you can imagine the blood soon followed. I must say that it is hard to stop the urge to take off to the hospital, especially when you know it is deep. I was worried that I may have hit the bone on the joint. But I’m resisting for the time being. I’ll give it a few days to see what it’s going to do. Hopefully it won’t get infected. At least the bleeding has slowed.

So you can bet that the new vanity will NOT have ceramic handles. And the upside of the whole incident is that I WILL get a new vanity AND I can give Hubby ‘the finger’ without being called out for it! 😀

Get this into ya!
4 Responses to “My finger has a heart beat”


  1. 29 December, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    Yooooooowwwwwww!!!!!!!!! Bloody hell, that would have hurt. I for one love the graphic pictures. They show the drama from whoa to go…such pathos and pain. How are you going top this? Opening a vein is pretty impressive. Damn, I’m not doing anything as impressive as this on my blog. You Mexicans just have to one up us Cane toads don’t you?

  2. 30 December, 2007 at 9:45 am

    LOL! Actually it didn’t really hurt. Shock perhaps? Mind you, NOW if I forget about it and bump it it hurts like hell. It’s a day later and it’s still oozing. The flap of skin on the joint is going white. I may lose it yet. Thinking I might have to duck up to the hospital to get some more gauze for the dressing. May get them to pass an eye over it. I don’t know. Perhaps I’m over-reacting.

  3. 30 December, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Oh, and there’s no plans to top this, thank you very much LOL!

  4. 30 December, 2007 at 10:07 am

    Yeah – I’d nick up to the hospital just for them to have a squiz and more importantly stock up on supplies. And yeah, you’re going to lose that skin. No piano playing for you tonight. Maybe just stick to tap dance this evening.


Leave a Reply

