24
Jan
08

A bit over it

The JokerWell, as you can all imagine the press down here are having a field day over the death of Heath Ledger. We’ve got hours of movie tributes (amazing how the TV networks can get their asses into gear when someone dies, isn’t it?), endless interviews with actors who worked with him for like 2 seconds, neighbours, fans, people who’d passed him on the street, the man down the road’s dog. You name it, they’ve dredged them up. But what really did it for me this morning was an interview the poor guy’s old primary school Principle (headmaster). I mean, COME ONE people, get a grip!

Anyway, it really is starting to sound like more of an accidental overdose than anything sinister. They say he was getting over pneumonia, had been exhausted and unwell. It wouldn’t surprise me if this mix of sleeping pills and his general rundown condition just pushed his poor body over the edge. We’ve all become just so blase with prescription drugs. Who’d have thought popping a couple of sleeping pills to help you sleep through an illness would have you waking up at the pearly gates?

Anyway, I’m a bit over it now so enough of that. What else has been happening? Not much really. I’m just biding my time, waiting for the kids to get back to school and believe me there have been a few times where I’ve thought they wouldn’t make it LOL!

Now one of the few things that I DO get to do whilst down in Sydney is read. I think I do most of my annual reading when I’m down there. I managed to finish Eldest by Christopher Paolini, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling, Dangerous Games by Keri Arthur, A Girls Guide to Vampires by Katie MacAlister, and Gideon by Jacquelyn Frank (Book 2 of the Nightwalker series).

Not bad, eh?

My favourite at the moment would be Jacquelyn Frank’s book. I have since ordered the other two in the series and am waiting very impatiently ๐Ÿ˜‰ As usual, I came into this series in the middle so missed a bit of the history of Jacob but his book is hopefully on its way as I speak. It’s a fresh take on all things dark and dangerous – of course. I noticed that JF uses big words throughout her work, rather than the ‘basic’ language style you see in many novels. It can be a bit off-putting as you find yourself balking at a word to make sure that you read it right. Then that little voice in your head starts up ‘Why didn’t she just say …’ and then you lose the flow and have to start the sentence/paragraph again LOL! But apart from that it’s looking like a fantastic series.

Oh, and I’ve just downloaded some more books from TEB! Can’t wait to get into these: The Watchers: Dark Awakening by Charlotte Featherstone, Redemption: Fallen by Brynn Paulin and Celtic Fire:Solstice Seduction by Bronwyn Green. They’re all from the Fallen Angels series and if the small amount that I’ve read of Dark Awakening is anything to go by, then I’ll be very, very happy with my purchases ๐Ÿ˜€

Well that’s about it. I had typed all this once already and then lost it when I went searching for links, damn it! So I’m a bit over it now LOL.

5 Responses to “A bit over it”


  1. 24 January, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Sad thing for Heath Ledgers family. People – the media – needs to them grieve. He wss a man first. RIP

  2. 25 January, 2008 at 5:05 am

    I was reading your blog and you speak exactly like I do – being the fabulous Aussies we are – and my US publisher removes all Australian words as they feel Americans would not understand – yet my reviews mention how Aussie my book are…go figure

  3. 25 January, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Yeah? I wonder what makes us ‘sound’ like Aussies? Is it just the words, or how we string a sentence together? Of course it could be incredible sense of sarcastic humour LOL!

  4. 25 January, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    I think Aussies just put it out there with no apologies. We are who we are – no other race is as fabulous as the Aussie race

  5. 26 January, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Bloody oath! And even better when we win the race, eh? LOL


Leave a Reply

