08
Feb
08

Give me a break!

Old CarpetFare thee well old, stinky, yucky carpet …. (seems one of my cats is having a bit of separation anxiety, he’s the black blob up the top)

aaaaand hello ……. TERMITES??

Blood and bloody ashes they’re back.

Yup, it seems we’re inundated with the little bastards. Hubby found them when he was pulling up the carpet in the lounge-room. Frig & fricken hell!!!

We had the little buggers a few years back and managed to poison them off. But it seems they’ve returned. Luckily they have only eaten along the piece of timber that is used to hold the carpet down and haven’t gotten into the skirting boards. Mind you we don’t know what it looks like in the walls. Either way our pest man was there within the hour (god love him) and he’s baited them again. Unfortunately we couldn’t find where they were coming from as there were no obvious nests.

However, this had hubby worried and he’d been stewing on it all day. Anyway, it got the better of him at 9:30pm last night so off he goes under the house again. This time with Grandpa in tow. Well, they finally found the nest. Right below the bathroom would you believe it. Gee if that’s not an excuse for a bathroom reno well then I don’t know what is LOL!

Anyway, seems the bastards have also gotten into the wall behind our bedhead. We can plainly see where they are as there are depressions in the fibro. I always told hubby that I could hear a scratching sound. He thought I was being silly. Anyway, to add to the ever expanding reno bill we’ve ALSO found them in the kitchen cupboard which resides right next to the fridge, which I inadvertently put my finger through. I also recall reporting a chewing sound coming from that cupboard too and was once again ignored *rolls eyes*.

So the pest man is back today, injecting poison this time (he’s brought out the big guns). So any money we’ve managed to pull together to finally add value to this dump of a house is now being spent de-bugging and re-building it.

Red-Back SpiderSo there we have it. Our house is it’s own little ecosystem in itself! Fleas, cockroaches, red-back spiders and now termites. Yippee!

*sigh* I need a stiff drink.

Oh, and the flooring arrived yesterday but our excitement has been tainted as you can imagine.

*Edited to add pic of Redback for you Kelly 😀 They’re not that big of course, but you get the picture*

9 Responses to “Give me a break!”


  1. 9 February, 2008 at 1:01 am

    So red back spiders?? We don’t have them here in yank-land. Sound vaguely dangerous. In Saudi Arabia I once woke up to a bed filllllled with squashed termites. I was seven at the time and will never forget the scream I gave which peeled paint off the walls. The buggers were coming in under my desk. Since I have no wood in my bed (uh, Bron, be nice) I couldn’t figure out why they were in there. But evidently I squished them by rolling around all night. HUNDREDS of the things. Hate termites.

  2. 9 February, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Yep Kelly, red-back spiders are (I think) the equivalent to your black widow? Not sure. But they are poisonous and I’m lead to believe they could make a person very, very sick.

    Eewww … a bed full of termites? I don’t blame you for not liking them. Ick!

  3. 9 February, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Jeeze you’re lucky – termites – touch wood all is solid here. As for redbacks. I get a lot of them so they get sprayed constantly and I have seen some bloody big ones of those. As for redback bites – ice ’em

  4. 9 February, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Ice eh? I’ll remember that thanks AJ. Thank goodness it’s not like the bluebottle stings where they say to pee on them LOL!

  5. 10 February, 2008 at 2:10 am

    Hugs. I hope you get those buggers. I think I saw a sign of termites in my upstairs bathroom last night. I have to show hubby when he gets home from work today – he’ll probably yell and have a fit, but better than having the toilet go through the floor with someone on it. Ewwww…

    BTW, I read your post at Amarinda’s blog and I want to let you know I LOVE your covers. I think you’re a great artist. Thanks for all the great covers you’ve done for me.

  6. 10 February, 2008 at 7:03 am

    Are you supposed to pee on them anymore? I suppose if you need something acid and that’s what you’ve got…yes, what exciting people artists and writers discuss…peeing, spiders and termites. Stayed tuned for more tomorrow

  7. 10 February, 2008 at 9:03 am

    LOL! I think they recommend Vinegar these days but if it’s all you’ve got on tap and it works then .. what the hell!

    Thanks for the hugs Ashley and yes get hubby onto that asap.

  8. 8 Helen
    10 February, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Termites—- eeyyyywwwww yuck! Had our house done a few years ago and tremble at the thought. **shiver*** Hopefully that will be the last of the little buggers for you.
    🙂

  9. 11 February, 2008 at 9:02 am

    Thanks Helen. Yeah, somehow I doubt it will be the last we see of them. They’re pretty prominent around here. We just need to have an annual pest inspection with hubby checking in-between. He’s got lights under the house now and we’re thinking of whitewashing the pylons, etc for easier spotting. Hopefully that will keep them under control 😀


Leave a Reply

