02
Mar
08

All things cowboyish

FrustratedUgh! I just got a message back regarding my most recent cover. It seems that the hero in the book was actually a Native American with long hair and not just a ‘cowboy’ as stated on the form. Of course I had a ‘cowboy’ with short hair and facial stubble. Sheesh! I’m not a mind reader. We fill out a form for a reason folks! So now I’m off to hunt down a replacement *grumble, grumble*

Hopefully it won’t take too long to find something suitable. Not that there’s a lot of American Indian stock available out there .. which means I’ll have to add long hair to a ‘cowboy’. I’m not good with hair. Anyway, I guess it’s not the end of the world.

Kasey & KahluaAnd since we’re on the topic of all things ‘cowboyish’ (ooh look, there’s a word for you AJ!) my 6yo daughter had her first riding lesson yesterday. Well. The word ‘Lesson’ might be stretching it! From what I could see it’s learn as you go LOL! They just plonked them on these horses and then headed off into the bush on a trail ride for 2 hours! Cripes!! I almost died of a heart attack. There were no leads or anything … just a long line of terrified little girls with big, buggy eyes LOL!

I think I needed a stiff drink as I watched them disappear into the sunset. My daughter is a little on the timid side when it comes to new things. I’m surprised she pulled herself together to even get on the horse, let alone be left to their own devices. She found herself on a showy little Palomino called Kahlua (aptly named as I could have done with a few myself!). There she is in the picture. LOL! Look at her shoulders she looks like she’s ready to implode 😀 He was a sweet little pony though.

But you know what when they came back she looked amazingly comfortable. She was twisting around in the saddle to talk to her cousin and looking quite animated. So who know’s. Perhaps she’s got my horse riding abilities. YAY! Finally something we can do together 😀

Mind you it was a struggle to convince her father. He’s a ‘team sports’ kinda guy. ‘Horse riding is not sport’ he tells me. Yeah. Right! It’s only been in the OLYMPICS for the last 100 years! (hmm .. don’t quote me on that ’cause I can’t be bothered googling to find out ;)).

Anyway, the thing is she made it back on one piece and with a smile on her face and I don’t have to explain to my husband why his 6year old daughter is in intensive care! Yay for me!!

2 Responses to “All things cowboyish”


  1. 3 March, 2008 at 5:44 am

    OMG! How did you get a picture of me???

  2. 3 March, 2008 at 7:42 am

    *snort* Aaaah … I have my ways AJ. I have my ways 😉


Leave a Reply

