07
Mar
08

Upgrade! & Wishlist for 2008

Yippee!! My computer has more RAM. Don’t ask me how much more. I don’t know. But it has more!!! I haven’t taken him for much of a test drive just yet. I’m still checking out messages & blogs since he’s been at the ‘shop’. But I can’t wait to get into Photoshop and see if there is much difference in speed.

I always wondered how the artists over at DA were able to have photoshop, email, music and numerous other ‘things’ open all at once without their computer having a major meltdown. And why I would have trouble just running photoshop and Outlook! It cost me $100 so there better be a noticeable difference.

Anyway, this year I am going to try to upgrade my workstation. My printer and scanner no longer work. Well, they work but they’re no longer compatible with the computer. I would like to get a colour laser printer/scanner. Possibly even a fax although it’s not on my high list of priorities.

I believe that a new cordless keyboard & mouse is on it’s way for my birthday (YAY!!) 😀 My old one still works but it is getting a bit grotty. Needs a clean 😉 Anyway, I prefer the ergonomic keyboards. I know. I’m strange, but I really do find them much easier on my wrists.

Then I need to upgrade and get myself Photoshop CS3, Illustrator and InDesign. My student status should get me that at a reasonable price. I just hope that the student versions aren’t missing anything important. Something I’ll need to look into first.

And last but not least. A camera. My little pocket rocket is about to give up the ghost. I’ve noticed that the focus is off in the bottom left corner and sometimes it just won’t focus at all. I’ve tried cleaning the lense but I think it’s something internal. Geez, it only cost me $150 so I guess it’s done it’s job. So for the next camera, I’m thinking a Canon EOS 450 or equivalent. I’ll need to look into it a little more. There is mention of hubby possibly heading over to Hong Kong later in the year, so I need to get my butt into gear and start putting some money aside so he can get it for me Duty Free. The goal for having this fancy schmancy camera is to eventually learn how to take my OWN stock photos. Who knows, maybe I’ll even get daring enough to hire a couple of models *OMG!!* Unfortunately me and mine aren’t ‘Cover’ model material 😉 Then again, I am a photo manipulator for crying out loud LOL.

Yes, I know this post makes me sound like I’ve got money to spend. I don’t. I wish I did LOL. But if I want to continue down this road as a Cover Artist, I really need to step up to the plate.

So what’s on your Wishlist for 2008?

3 Responses to “Upgrade! & Wishlist for 2008”


  1. 8 March, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Ooh wishlists! I want a superslim Pink Dell Laptop. And a 30gig IPod. And a printer that takes cartridges that will print more than 200 pages before it runs out. And a bunny.

  2. 8 March, 2008 at 7:33 am

    My wish is to win an enormous amount of money in the lotto then not have to worry about wish lists as I would just go shopping

  3. 10 March, 2008 at 7:38 am

    Oooh … yes a laptop would be good. Would certainly save the arguments over the computer. LOL! So true Amarinda. So true!


Leave a Reply

